New role…

As of July 19th, I start a new full-time role as a Research Director with Gartner Group (more specifically, in the Identity and Privacy Services team under the ‘Burton Group’ brand).

I am absolutely delighted to have this opportunity. Not only will I be continuing to explore the same topics (digital identity, online privacy, access management and security…), I will also be joining a fantastic group of people – including the likes of Bob Blakley and Ian Glazer – for whom I have enormous respect. If there’s a downside, it’s that they set a formidable standard to match up to.

This is going to be a fun ride, though, so I hope you will stick with me and join the excitement!

Step One: I’ll be at Catalyst in San Diego again this year, so if you’re going to be there please come and say hi. If you’re not going to be there… naughty, naughty!

Some housekeeping:

Obviously, I will not be doing any more consulting work through Future Identity – but for continuity reasons, the Future Identity website will persist, as an archive of presentations and published papers. I’ll also continue to blog and tweet using the Future Identity persona*, though I expect there a gentle separation will emerge between that and any blogging I do in my corporate role via the Gartner Blog Network.

*I have been saying, for several years now, that sensible use of different personas is key to maintaining control over our digital footprint. I do generally point out, in the same breath where possible, that doing a good job of persona management takes thought, time and effort.

Establishing, maintaining and killing off discrete personas are the most obvious use-cases. The real trick, though, is to be able to segue one persona into another, while maintaining your control and your audience. The more you work on establishing a brand, the harder it can be to ‘unhook’ brand awareness and attach it to something new. As “social network” services enter their second and third generations, that’s something they will have to come to terms with.

12 thoughts on “New role…

  1. WH says:

    Congratulations. Is the URL for your Gartner blog available yet? Look forward to your graceful segue!

  2. Robin Wilton says:

    Thank you!No blog URL yet… soon after the 19th, I hope. I'll post again when I have the URL.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations on your new job. I've noticed over the past couple years a number of people who have left the corporate fold to become consultants, then returned to full-time employment. I guess there is one lesson here for would-be consultants…it's pretty darn hard to earn a living as an independent. Would you agree?

  4. Eve Maler says:

    Robin– Hearty congrats on this move; it's a perfect role for you! (Seeing as how you can't help sharing sensible thoughts on personae in the very message where you announce the change. 🙂 Can't wait to see you pick up your blogging thread on the Gartner site.

  5. Robin Wilton says:

    Dear Anonymous – Well, I wouldn't say it was easy, particularly as this was my first foray into self-employment… but January 2009 was also a very challenging time to be starting an independent consultancy, in terms of economic conditions and business confidence. I am happy to say that Future Identity's business started strongly, with a combination of one long-term contract and multiple shorter engagements, and that by January 2010 the 'pipeline' already showed good year-on-year growth.I think, if you see a lot of people coming out of and then returning to corporate employment, the explanation could also be that corporations were squeezed extremely tightly by the economic downturn (and reduced their workforces accordingly), but that improved business confidence is once again generating new employment opportunities in the corporate sector.The same business confidence should also be generating new opportunities for those who remain as independents – and indeed many of my self-employed colleagues seem to be finding work which, six months ago, would not have been on offer.I think that any independent who made it successfully through 2009 has cause to be optimistic about future business. I certainly hope so. As far as my own move is concerned, this was a superb opportunity to continue working on the same fascinating topics with a superb team I like and admire. I was happy to work with them while I was self-employed, and I'll be happy to work with them when I'm in the same company.

  6. CarolynC says:

    Congratulations, Robin!

  7. Tony Fish says:

    Congratulations Robin, looking forward to continuing the debate and discussionTony http://blog.mydigitalfootprint.com

  8. Gary Gale says:

    Congrats Robin … I hope the same level of comment, blogging, tweeting, generally informing us and poking at sacred cows will continue.

  9. Cynthia says:

    Fab! I hope they appreciate you and that you enjoy the new role greatly. Have fun and stay inquisitive. The ever-private Steve sends his regards as well. C3

  10. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations Robin, well deserved.PaulW.

  11. Aaron says:

    Wow, I just heard the news! Congratulations, Robin!

  12. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations Robin! I know that you will keep up and evolve the Burton team's good work during the years.Måns

Comments are closed.