In the past, I have used Victoria Beckham’s credit card, Gordon Brown’s fingernails, and Caroline Flint’s housing forecasts. Not the actual things, you understand – that would be immoral, gross or both – but the fact that all of them have been the subject of inadvertent levels of disclosure, thanks to the ease with which photos can be instantly published to a virtually global audience.

It looks like I’m going to have to update my presentation to account for the latest in the series: Asst Commissioner Bob Quick’s accidental display of a secret document on his way past the paparazzi. As a result of the disclosure, an operation had to be quickly kicked off to round up those identifiable from the document, before they were warned off by the information being released into the public domain.

Still, it could be worse. All I have to do is update my slides. Bob Quick is looking for a new job. This accidental disclosure lark can be serious.

