Home Secretary "shocked" by digital footprint

I don’t really care whether the Home Secretary claims her ISP costs without remembering to cross out the “personal use” items – though as someone who has occasionally had to distinguish between personal and business elements on a single phone bill, I am at a loss to see what is so hard about doing so.

I care even less who watches which films in the Smith/Timney household – and if those give rise to frank exchanges between the couple, that’s entirely a matter for them.

However, I wonder if this has had any effect on the Home Secretary’s awareness of her digital footprint. Our online activities, whether by mobile phone, landline, broadband, cable or satellite, all leave a track, whether we intend them to or not – as Mr Timney has discovered. Admittedly, that doesn’t necessarily result in Daily Express coverage for every one of us, but the information is there nonetheless, and there are many other ways in which it can make its way into the public domain.

I doubt, though, whether this will materially affect current plans for the mass interception of communications data and the rumoured monitoring of social networking sites.

“[T]he EU Data Retention Directive, under which ISPs must store communications data for 12 months, does not go far enough” – Home Office security minister Vernon Coaker (March 16th 2009).

One thought on “Home Secretary "shocked" by digital footprint

  1. Arabic says:

    I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.Joannahhttp://linuxmemory.net

Comments are closed.